Shorinji Zazen

The first session

Yesterday I held my first Shorinji Zazen session. I was looking forward to it. I was pretty calm, only a slight sense of nerves. My first real non-musical Zen-priest event. When I first came to Japan my first job, was teaching meditation at the local mall. I was the Kung Fu Sensei meditation teacher. Not the Priest. At that time I followed the standard path of my Ch’an group teaching the class. This time I set the path.
 
I arrive at the Temple, about 1 hour before the class. I relaxed with Osho-san before some others arrived. He showed me around a bit more. Then we watched a video of his leading major Jodo-shu event a couple of years ago. The Jodo sect, the Pure Land is huge in Japan. They seem to be more “engaged” on a public level Buddhist than the Zen Sect.
Of no matter, just a Radom thought.
Slowly people started coming in. First two, then another two, then a few singles, then more. I was quite surprised to find so many. About 10 in total, 11 with Ooshosan. That was really the Max, due to the size of the room. I had concerns about social distance. The room was pretty open, and the a/c was on. I opened a few windows to add fresh air. What we were doing was not strenuous but did require some serious breathing. I do not want people, including me coming from taking a health boost class and catching the virus.
Class starts, I explain a bit in my weak Japanese what we were going to be doing, my friend gave help when I needed to translate. We started with some basic Qi Gong and little massage and movement to get the body ready to be still.
Then we sat, I explained some more, we did a little chanting. This was totally new for me to lead. However, I rolled with it. In the path at Soto practice, we chanted after sitting, after walking. We chanted the Heart Sultra. I did “Na Mu Ami Da Bu”, instead, so to put the practice more in the realm of Jodo Shu, and not using Amitoufo. Felt a little strange at first I was not sure how to start the chant. I believe there is some Japanese wording said before starting when I have heard Otosho-san start. I just set the tempo and started, some joined, some not all, that at least, that I could hear. No matter.
 
Next, we did the actual Zazen for 15 min, which is a decent time length. After that I explained how to do Taichi walk. My other group adapted to doing it from me. They do it however in the beginning, They do not do any walking between sessions. Felt it would be good to do now, instead of just regular walking in a circle. It was challenging for every, which was good. It is challenging but not un-doable with focus. That is part of the training, and balance, communication with your body. One needs to be totally into the moment to move. I explained, later the meal, it changes the mind and body from Yin and Yang modes. When sitting the body is still and calm the inside is busy, breath, etc, When doing Tai Chi walk the body is active but the mind and spirit are still. Tai Chi walking is the first thing one learns when studying Tai Ch Chuan. At least in my Federation Tai Chi Mantis system.
 
After we finish, we sit again for the final stillness sitting. I cut it to only 10 min as we are running behind.
 
 
It was then over. I thought people would pay Osho-san but he told them to pay me….ehhhh!? Again I was shocked. I will need to return part of it if not all in a donation form, this is the feelings also of my wife.
 
Usually, when visiting I bring something, garden vegetables, wine, something to add to the temple. I am always fed and wined when I visit. One friend of Osho san said he does this as an excuse to have a drinking party!
 
 
After the session is all, done, Osho-san gave out to those who wanted some small gongs. Which I am guessing were donated to the temple rather than thrown away, by some families. I selected a couple to take home. Had brought my own with me, but it is of little value. Some of these were very nice. I chose a couple, a big one and a small one, I like the clear sound. That was another thing, they all sounded different. One chose one the sound as well. I got a couple of replacements for mine, along with new pads. I learned later there are different styles for striking the gong, depending on the sect.
About this time many left at this point.
 
 
 
A short time later the few of us still there made ready for eating and drinking downstairs. This was tea, drinking, eating, chanting time. It was fun. There were some questions about The practice we did, I could explain better under relaxed conditions. There was another friend of Osho-san there who’s English is very good, he is a Doctor, he could translate things nicely.
 
There was spoken of interest of continuing the Zen Practice it was enjoyable and the doctor especially said he benefited, it will help with his medical practice and his own spiritual belief as he did his work on not just a medical level, but spiritual as well.
 
 
So we ate n drank into the evening speaking on this n that, that n this. Then three of us in the group played some Shakuhachi Honkyoku before calling it an evening. I arrived at 1:45, it was now at the end 9:30.
 

Photos and words from the Japanese blog of komyoji
https://ameblo.jp/ensyouzan-koumyouji/entry-12611939928.html

One thought on “Shorinji Zazen

Leave a comment