Vegan Fest

Vegan Fest

I had seen ads for the Vegan fest for the last couple of years, one thing or another was on the same day so I could never attend. This year I made a point of going. I am not a vegan , but I am a vegetarian. Also the event is about environmental conscienceless and helping ease the suffering of animals, so two things as a Chan Priest I had concerns on. Therefore, I had the spiritual need in my mind to go support this, so I was off to the Fest.

 
The day was pleasant, not cold, not hot, perfect for an outing. I made my way there without any trouble finding it. The on-line map was good, using my smart phone. So I went right to the place. It was a small event for the most part. Not crowded, but not empty. There was a pretty good selection of foods, more dessert items than main stay, but there was still those as well. The place reminded me of a “hippie” event in the states. There was a large foreign turnout, but the majority were Japanese. Several of the booths were run by mixed couples. 
 
I first walked around to check things out , scout the scene. Then I made my food choices. I started with a “taco” thing, and some fruit drink mixture. It was good. Next Samosas, very good, small but good. Plain no sauce but still good. I wanted a falafel but the line was long and all the signs and info was in Japanese. So , I passed, on standing then looking stupid when trying to figure out, what was up. Of course they may have spoke English, but why were all the signs only in Japanese, all the other booths had English and Japanese…
When I finally made my way back they were sold out! That was sort of common , I saw a lot of places with signs up that certain thing were already sold out and it was sort of early in Tue afternoon. I went back to another stand and they to were sold out, I settled for some Indian fried rice and salad. There were a lot of places to sit and eat, so that was nice. I got a few things to take home, some cookies, two Samosa for LZ, some homemade sauerkraut, then headed back. I passed a Thai restaurant on the way back to the train station, I was very temped to stop in for a little something, but restrained myself.
 
On the train ride home I ended up sitting across from an older man who was carrying a yumi. I spoke with him a bit. He was coming From Osaka Castle. He had a Yon-dan. I did not get everything he was saying but a bit of it. He knew of my Senseis and was saying something about a lot of people from my school. He got off at the next stop. Two days later I went to my Dojo for our Tuesday Kimono practice day. I found out more of what he was saying. There was a Taikai that day there at Osakajo, I was supposed to be there, in it!!! It was pointed out to me when I arrived at class! Doh!! How embarrassing! I had completely forgotten, having gotten my days , times, and months all mixed up. Lucky for me I had some omiyage from the Kamakura trip with me, so it added some weight to my apology. I have made an extra be sure marker on the next TaiKai on May. I have already signed up for and been given my tasks to help as we are hosting the event. So I have to be extra careful not to lose face…again!
Doh!
more pix are here if interested X
Leave a Reply

