Completion …Art tools as Art within Art


The forces are balanced, the water boils properly; but if the pot is too full and boils over, it puts out the fire. On the other hand, if the fire is too hot for too long, it can evaporate all the water. In maintaining the equilibrium that follows the completion of an arduous task, forces at work in the situation must be monitored carefully to ensure that a proper balance is maintained. The state of After Completion is a time for fine-tuning, for refinements and embellishments of what has been accomplished

…I-Ching #63



Things are coming together. Yoshiko the Bass, is doing well. All cleaned up she is great.  The day after she came back from the shop the parts I ordered came in . Gold plated tuning pegs and volume/tone adjust knobs. It adds some nice bling, but understated. It goes goes with the dark wood. Now I feel like it is “MY AXE”, my Bass!



Another, I have been waiting for item arrived yesterday, my Ya from the shop. Earlier than I expected, that is always nice. NOW they are perfect as I had in my mind. I wanted for a long to time get these ya, then when I got them , last year, they did not get part of the work correct. So every time I used them I was reminded, this is unfinished, this is not how/what I wanted, I am still waiting. I used a pair tonight at practice, and yeah it is pretty superficial to trip on a small thing like a color scheme, or a pattern. Yet each fleeting glimpse of beauty observed, yet un-named is a bit of Zen, and in itself a practice. Observe, Absorb, Release. See the flower, breath the scent, move on. Also, there is no mistaking mine at a large event in a barrel.

I had been giving some thought to my fixation with the bass and the ya. Besides being tools of my passions, I think a combination of things, I am self analyzing. It has been over three years since we lost almost everything with the Boat, the bankruptcy the year before that, the lost of the condo, job, etc, in the years just before that. People giving us stuff to start over since arriving. It has been a while since I have had something of mine, as I want it, even then it has been a bit of a hustle involved. We still have basically very little and own almost nothing. For real nothing expensive. It is ok, we have what we need and a little extra and health, life is good. I will most likely not have a Car, motorcycle, boat, condo, or well-paying job again. Not to put a jinx on myself, but reality is the mind of Zen. Under my present conditions, without some major changes anyway, yeah, so whatever treats I am blessed with these days is a big deal. Life owes us nothing and is not fair. All we can do is take another step and be thankful for the foot to do so.

 
I was inspired by the newness of my tools, to take some pictures. Another plus for the new tools is artist inspiration joy is where you find/make it. 
 
Tools of Art, as Art, art within Art…
Leave a Reply

