The Bass Story – final

 
Waiting…
Good thing, well not really a good thing. I was going to say, good I did not have a gig, but I would have just used the Peavy, no biggie. Anyway. I was told it would be ten days before the bass would be ready. On the tenth day LZ says, no, I said about ten days! Ohhh, 😦
I settled in for more 
 
Waiting…
I figured Tues the guy would call. He called Monday night… LZ explained. It was arranged to expect delivery on Weds. Just a bit more 
 
Waiting…
Finally, it arrived , the guy was a little late but, no biggie after all this waiting…
 
Waiting to find the right Bass, right price
Waiting for the auction to end
Waiting for shipping
Waiting to locate a repair person
Waiting for the seller to contact us
Waiting for the repair
Waiting to play, hear, feel, see.
 
One could not ask for better service. The shop owner picked up , repaired, delivered, my Bass. ( which by the way I need to name)

So I highly recommend Guitars Fact.Kawanaka

 

Oh, yeah, the seller. LZ set him an email. We were not expecting to hear back from him, because other on the comments said they did not. We also figured out later if LZ had made the purchase as a premium member instead of me a free member, then Yahoo Auctions would have gotten involved. Anyway the guy contacted us. He said he was sorry there was a problem, please return it at his cost , to be checked out. Well by now we had sent it off to be repaired. We told him so and the cost. Which was only $65.00 about in Yen. Which was really not a big deal. He did not offer to help with that he just said sorry. We let it go. The full shop work cost 25,920 yen. About 260.00 in US cash. That was for the repair, new strings, resetting factory specs, setting the neck action low but balanced, removing some yukkiness from the back side, re-oiling the body. All in all it cost me 57,920 yen for this Bass. I am pleased! I got the Bass I wanted, and had a little left over to help with the new Shakuhachi. So making the sale of my brother’s Bass, worked out.
 
I spent some time today just playing, feeling, listening to it. This bass was a good choice I am very comfortable playing it, the weight is good, the sound is good, the action is good. This will be my working Bass. It has been a while since I have had the, this in “my Axe” feeling. rather than this is my brother’s Bass. This was made possible via his bass, so it is still sort of live memorial for him.
I have a couple of things upcoming with the Doc’s Blues band. I have not played with him since the thing in Kobe.
Last year we did a blues festival and were asked back this year. I agreed. It is alway good to play. Better knowing what to expect, which is nothing, just roll with whatever, makes it simple and almost fun. So I will get to go live with the new Bass..Yoshiko? hmmmm, maybe, It was made in Japan, one of the last.
My string section is finished now. Some people have a large collection of Basses and or guitars. Not my style. What I have now is all I need or want. I still have my brother’s four string Bass as a back up. Which I have put a way in its case. So it has been a little weird-looking at an empty Bass rack. It has been a small reminder of the void and waiting for completion …
Now I am looking to Jam, feel it, and think… it’s Alive!!!.
 
 
 
.
Leave a Reply

