The Bass Story / prt 2


It is all about the money…a Bass story, part 2

 
When I last left off, the Bass was off to the hospital…
 
I had did a quick look see for places nearby to take the bass. Of course my search was limited by doing it in English. I gave LZ the short list. She had something to say about it.  I suggested she look in Japanese. A short while later she had found a shop. They did not do sellijg of musical instruments they only did repiars and customizing. They were somewhat close. 
Yea, call them I said. She spoke with the shop person, it was arranged that he would take a look at the Bass. The part that floored me was he would come and pick it up…at no charge! I was floored. Never happen in the states! As it turns out this shop was not nearby a train station and up in the hills. Doing the pickup was part of there service when needed. He would get the Bass , check it out, and advise me of the repairs and cost. I could have the work done or not, my freedom, no work, no charge! Dayammmm! He made arrangements to leave right away to come pick up the Bass so he could speak Japanese with LZ for details. As she was going out soon , he would leave right away! 45 min later he arrived.
 
The guy came by and did a quick check of the Bass. We talked a bit, him mostly to LZ since he did not speak English. They talked about the bass and about how I hot it from Yahoo Auction. Sometime he says they are good. The private people are mostly good. But there are companies on there who one needs to watch out for. After LZ had done some research she found out some of the bad comments from some customers. Not all but enough had I known I would not have purchased. We learned. Anyway it was arranged what I needed. A few hours later she received the eMail.
 
The Bass can be fixed early fairly cheap. Some small parts should be replaced, a bit of rewiring, and did I want New strings anyway, also they would setup and balance everything and check and ad just. Basically refurbish the Bass for just under 30000 yen. I said go for it! This included doing some work on the body I asked about. It was just under half of the cost of the Bass, but made it almost new again. I was planning that much as my ceiling anyway so it worked out. A like new Bass and a little cash for the Shakuhachi kitty.

So I am still using eBay in the states. They have been really helpful for things I need. The nice thing about them is they have a company policy to get involved with a transaction if they is a problem, and the customers is getting screwed. This Yahoo Auction here in Japan does not. Once the sale is made you are on your own. You can leave a bad rating but they will do nothing for getting you a refund. 
 
The person who purchased my Bass was very happy and left a good mark for LZ . We will leave a very bad one for the seller of the one I purchased. LZ was saying I should just accept the bad deal and buy a brand new one. I said no way will I just waste the money spent from my brother Bass. The body is mostly good, the electronic are bad they can be replaced.
 
All in all I am not saving a great deal of money, but some is better than none. This will most likely be my last Bass purchase…
 
Sometimes I look at my instruments and wonder who will get this when I am gone? I am here alone in Japan. Or when it comes time for the old folks home what will I take? Not really morbid thoughts. Reality. Dealing with the sale of my brother’s Bass brings back thoughts of me having to clear his apartment after his passing. Some of his stuff carries on through me. Mine will be the end of the line. I left my grandfather’s violin with my first son before I left. I took my first formal music lesson on that. I did not want it just lost in Japan…or on the boat! Maybe I pass down one or two of my Kung Fu swords. Yeah at least even through none of the kids do Kung Fu, the swords make great wall displays.
 
I digress…
 
So now my working instrumentation for Japan is complete. Thanks to the passing of my mother and brother. That is kind of weird, but truthful. I have to be grateful to them.
 srt805dxcn
…to be coniuned
Leave a Reply

