It is all about the money…a Bass story


It is all about the money…

 
I learned something the other day. I did not go into the lesson thinking about an economic lesson but music.
 
For a long time I have been thinking about getting rid of my second Bass. On and off I play it. I had recently decided to play it more and adapt myself to it. It is a 6 string bass, made in the US. That is sort of rare since most of that work was, is done elsewhere now. Use to be Japan, then changed to someplace cheaper, then someplace cheaper than that…So Made in the USA has some value on a resale.
greg-n-bass
 
This bass belonged to my youngest brother. He was a musician as well. He even played pro for a while, with a group called the Bus Boys. They got big when Eddy Murphy did a movie with them in it, called 48 hrs.
usboys
Then he hit hard times. He also did graphic design as did I . We were sort of like the mirror image of each other, sort of. He hit upon hard times, and passed away from a medical condition, no money for meds. I was the one who took care of collecting his stuff. He had a 4 String Peavey and a 6 String. I got the 4 string but noticed the 6 string one was missing. I found out he had pawned it. A short while after I gather his things, I got received a forwarded mail from the pawn shop. I contacted them and collected the Bass from a Pawn shop in LA. A beauty, not what I would have picked, but very nice, also heavy and big. Also the neck was too wide for me to be comfortable relaxed playing.
gregs-bass-2
 
I have played it as I said here in Japan. Also thought much about selling it and getting a 5 string. Beside being heavy I was not using the bass to its potential. In short more bass than I needed. I still had and used the 4 string, but wanted the deep B to give some bottom at spots. Finally after LZ said she wanted to close the yahoo auction account, I should use it before she does, by the end of the month. Ok, I acted, I figured I would put it up as a test and make sure I had a minimum sell price. I was shocked a bit, but not that surprised after a day or less for the minimum it was sold. 
 
gregs-bass
Now I began the serious hunt for a replacement. What had gotten me started again with the sell thought was seeing a bass in the music store, that looked sweet! The next few days were spent researching, thinking, what did I need, not just want, my plans, taste, age. I was ready to buy something from the states, but after much much much more research I came back to the bass model I saw in the store. I also found I had more of a selection buying used in Japan, as well as saving money. It was settled, I found a good bass, for a great price. I saved enough to help put money on the new Shakuhachi I plan for this spring. 
 
So I feel my brother would be ok with my choice to sell his second bass. He had already done so sort of. I saved it and it got to be played in Japan. Now I will still continuing to play Bass, but also invest in another quality musical instrument. Beside I still have his main bass. Not that he really cares, but it is just the sentimental thought process of humans. Not I have the working setup I want and need for here. Now to just make the music…yosh.
 
So ??? what was the lesson you ask… I found that even in Japan they use the made “country” as a selling point, in some cases. I saw several Japanese basses say, made in Korea. The new bass I saw in the store was made in Indonesia. Some ads for basses said made in Korea, then I saw some that said made in Japan. Those where the considered the best quality, Japan then Korea…
 
Interesting ne! How every country changes their labor to a smaller ranked country to save money. Maybe one day made in China will have the “gold standard”. Things change as the world turns, but it all comes back around.
 
wp-1487679142674.jpg
 Well, my new bass, arrived today. Earlier than I expected! Not a bad looking bass. however, frack me!!! it does not work!!!. Plug it in nothing! Well, the neck is good, and the action feels good along with the weight! The finish is rough as I saw, but the bummer is it does not work. I can refinish the body, not a biggie.
I had considered buying a so-so bass and upgrading the electronics. I guess I have no choice now. LZ says there is no return on this. She wrote the seller anyway, because it was not stated it did not work. and will leave them a BAD rating. Even in Japan there are crooks on-line!! So another lesson…2-for-1. Great, now I am depressed after all that effort to find a good bass and deal!! Sigh! Guess I will go have an adult something for the head and chill! I will find a repair later…tomorrow ! Grrrrrrrrr. 😦
*next day*
Off to the repair shop today…to be con’t…
 
.
Leave a Reply

