Things change…

1960s – As a youth I spent time with my Grandfather, in Virginia. There was a “white high school” and a ” colored high school”, a party line telephone. We had no central heating. Gramps wore “long johns”. I thought dang seriously old Man’s style. It was part of my ” chores’ to get the house heated in the mornings. We had wood stove and kerosene heaters. I would have to walk across the yard to our gas station, open the shop and get the oil container filled up, the back to the house to start the fires …

oil
2017. I can speak with someone on the other side of the world on my phone that I carry in my pocket, there has been a “colored” President, now a new one who is backed by the KKK, we have no central heating in Japan, I am still filling the kerosene cans, and starting the fire,…
The difference… I wear the “long johns”

One thought on “Things change…

Leave a Reply

