Do without doing


Do without doing…

 
The difference is noticeable, to me. Deeper seeking internally than externally, while keeping the external alive. I am speaking on shooting with the shinsa over my head, and the change since not choosing the shinsha this time. The sense of urgency is gone. I can just shoot with more internal conscience . Like going from Mato to Makiwara shooting.
 img_20170201_140313_31858692254_o
My latest tips from Yamashita sensei, have been worked into my programing. A big one I think is, I was holding my right arm too high. Lower then stretch the triceps from the elbows. Two directions, yin yang.
 
img_20170129_135155_32701328795_o
Another sensei, had me readjust my tenouchi. I have some callous now on my hands from doing the park work for the city. On my left palm it is where the Yumi rests. It was becoming very painful the other day while I was shooting. My grip was way wrong! Once the Sensei showed me the right way, hand stopped hurting. This lesson will stick because of the pain. Funny how we learn that way. Pain can be looked at as a good thing, it is our friend…at times. Perspective is a big deal.
img1485952035796_32322235600_o
 
Non-abiding awareness. This has been a word one of my Chan teachers uses a lot. It is how we should deal with things, life, tasks. Attention to detail, breath, victories, failures. When shooting, be the details, the moment, have no concern for the outcome, non-abiding awareness ( detachment) to the joy of success, hitting or pain of lost. Do what you do, without being attached to it, or the outcome. “Do without Doing.”
Sort of like “mushin”. I have been relating non-abiding awareness, more to Kyudo these days. I also notice my “Kyudo” things popping into regular Life. Walking straighter, is a big one, use of the eyes is another. Plus Cross stuff from Tai Chi to Kyudo, Kyudo to Tai Chi. I think that means I am understanding it more.
Understanding better the cycle of support, the interdependence of my arts; sitting chan, Kung Fu, Kyudo, Shakuhachi, Yoga…living and life…
…or,
I have grown more delusional …
3 thoughts on “Do without doing

  1. Great post! It’s been a long time since I’ve tried to open my mind and think about kyudo in a different way than I usually do, which this post has helped me to do. I love that image about “stretch the triceps from the elbow.” I’ve never heard it before and want to give it a try! Definitely learning from pain as well. I’ve hurt my shoulder from incorrect shooting. By doing correct shooting I can shoot without worry. So simple, and yet all it takes is a lot of effort a couple cm in the wrong direction to screw everything over. Delusion and understanding, walking in different directions at the same time … it’s perfectly plausible!

      • Yes! First time. I’ll go on the 2nd stay the night and join the tournament on the 3rd heading back later that night. I think there will be another teacher or two from my dojo who I’ll end up hanging around, but I’d love to meet up if you’re there!

Leave a Reply

