And the beat goes on…Jan 2017

I got a note from a friend asking if myself and the band, wanted to do a few opening numbers for his band at a foreigners club in Kobe. It is not really a “Gaijin” club, but it is.anyway, I said I would check. The Doc of course wanted to, the drummer after a bit also wanted to. So I put the wheels in motion. I also planned the song list and figured I would do most of the singing as that is the way it usually rolls. I also figured since I was doing all this the band should go under another name, since I was asked-by my friend, what was the band name? I said “Blues international”, and told the guys. There was No argument.

 
Show night comes, get setup, I hand out the agreed to song list. We get ready and the Doc says, we are doing blah blah to start. I could not believe what he said. This was a song there was some question about even doing , he was asking about. Calmly I said, I just gave you the song list, it says Mustang Sally. He looks at it and goes oh yea! 
We start playing he is having some issues with his guitar or something, besides not standing he is kneeling on the stage mostly. Hmmmmm, he is acting weird I am thinking.
harbor-tav-3
Ok, his song is up, now he stands and starts talking, Hello, I am doc blah blah, we are called the Matsuo Blues Band. I rolled with it. Next song, he is kneeling again, up and down… my friend gives him a stool, after some talk about him standing and his age. I rolled with it, he is younger than me. Anyway, overall it went well, considering the drummer stopped the wrong place on a song, and lost his beat on another, the doc, I pointed to him for his guitar solo and he missed it. Most of the songs had, really messed up endings. All of which is expected for a bunch of guy not played together since May and had no rehearsal. There were parts were we sounded pretty decent when I heard some of the recorded play back. Oh well, the was no money involved, it was just a shot at playing in. Kobe again at a different club. So yeah, it went ok. I made a note to myself, really try to not do that again with these guys. Not bad guys, but not satisfying to play with. I am not saying I will not ever, I am just saying I will not pursue playing with them.
 
Snafkin
Another friend contacted me. He is a percussionist. I played with him a couple of time before. We met at a show I was doing for Snafkin at the community center. He is nice guy also. However much more professional about his playing. So he was doing a show at Snafkin and asked if I wanted to join in. I said yes of course, thinking it would be the usual jam type after whoever or sit in with Bass. Still I worked on a couple of songs with me playing guitar, just incase, the club master asked me to do a song.
 
So it turns out the show is him, sort of called. Mario live and friends. He invited a bunch of musicians he knew and we all played with him, really he played with us.
16114759_10211895133396583_2682186878152597273_n
Everyone did a few songs and he played percussion. I was shocked to find I was the second in line to play, and there was just the two of us playing for my song. Ok, so I was prepared. I went into my solo artist mode. I have been giving that some thought for Snafkin anyway. It went ok, not as well as I would have liked, i could have used more practice and I wanted to song in Japanese at least on part of one song. I chickened out, I caved, however the is the Feb. jazz band, I have time to practice more.
 

So Snafkin went over all well. I did a couple of songs, and I played bass on a couple of songs for a guy Mario and I did a show with.

me-bass

 

I was also asked to play bass with another guy on his set. I met a new person, who I got to chat with a bit in English. She lived in the Bay Area for a couple of years with her husband.

16113980_10211895128396458_5386763001189749908_n

 

She is a friend of two people I already know that were there performing. I also got to speak a little English with another woman, a piano player, who friended me on FB after she saw me playing at the community center. It was a pleasant evening, meeting new people, seeing familiar ones.

 

16265832_10211895130316506_7129175577308939559_n

It made me more secure about setting up my own solo and band performance. What I need is someone to play with who is bilingual. Like the Doc but a better musician. That and or step up my Japanese. I got a couple of tips on playing Shamisen (Sanshin), that was cool and helpful. really the only small bummer was I do not get any pictures of my solo acoustic set.

 

16114480_1066802153428167_1635636323305354734_n

Just one play Bass for another guy I played with before. oh well, not really a big deal. Another nice part to the deal was I got picked up and dropped off at home.

Leave a Reply

