Small steps

Small steps…

 
I went to practice today, I did not let the rain stop me, after all it is just water. There were not a lot of people there but more than I expected. However by the time I was ready, many had put in there time and were leaving. I did not put on my full gear, just my gi top, the black one in fact, I was in a low key state of mind. I got a few comments, none of them were bad, just curious where I got it and if it was a Kyudo gi or Aikido or something.
 
I have been for the last couple of times been shooting with two yumi. I have the new Bamboo one there and the old, the Bamboo half breed. I can certainly tell the difference, weight and draw. However, i have noticed I can shoot better now with the halfie since I spent the time working on my form with the lighter glass bow. Also after shooting with it, when using “Aki Hime” everything falls more into place.
 wpid-wp-1447324200589.jpeg
 
Interesting today, my hit rate increased not by much, but it did. I have not been tracking it like before, but I can tell. It is still not good, but getting better. I did not put so much effort into finding the spot by looking for a spot on my yumi, but just by feeling, sensing the spot and being level. I really notice it when I paid attention to staying level coming out of Daisan into Kai and then focus on pushing , and using my under arm muscles to keep my arm from dropping. Yamashita Sensei was there today he pointed out a couple of things. One I was not lowering both of my shoulders together out of Daisan, my left was already down, in Daisan, and I was just dropping my right, this caused some un-balance. Also I was tending to lend into the shot and not stay level. Lastly I only needed light power in my left under arm. To much, like I was doing at time cause my release to jerk. The Kaicho told me to be aware of dividing my release equally left and right. Also I had too much tension when doing ushiokoshi, I needed to relax my arms more.
 
I can only judge if I am improving by what I am currently being corrected on or perhaps , I mean what I am not being corrected on.
 
Well anyway, I think I am making progress. I love my new bow, it is a pleasure to shoot with it. The Kaicho checked it over again today as did Yamashita Sensei, both gave their approval on it. I notice that people notice when I have a new bamboo yumi. Maybe because I was using that patched up Fiberglass yumi for a while. Now I have moved on up to the real deal.
wpid-wp-1447324167944.jpeg
A big Tai Kai coming this Sunday. I have been asked to handle photos again…cool
 
Leave a Reply

