Close encounter of the Kyudo kind

 

I am walking to the train station on my way to Kyudo. I notice an older man walking a dog coming towards me. I take note do to the bouncy step of the dog that looks sort of old. The man notices I have a Yumi.  As I pass he speaks and says Kyudo? I say yes!

He then tells me what I thought was, he does Kyudo at the Shrine Dojo nearby, and he is a GoDan. I told him, I tried to join there but the owner said no. He smiled and nodded. I said I train at Kishiwada, however I am friends now with some of the people at the Shrine Kyudojo. 

He said something about his barber and a Gaijin. Later I figured out Later he was saying his barber told him there was a Gaijin in the neighbourhood. My neighbour is his barber, his wife often gives us fish and veggies from the hood. So this guy tells me he has a lot of Yumi at his house, would I like to see them? I was hesitant, but after a bit figured, OK why not. So I went with him to his house which was near by. As it turns out, not just near by, right next door to my Shakuhachi Sensei!!! I am thinking whoa, how weird is this!

It does not stop there in weirdness…

We go to the door,  I wait outside as he going in to warn the wife he has brought home a guest, a Gaijin who does Kyudo, and is there to look at Yumis. It takes a couple of minutes then he says please come in…

 

 

I enter and the wife comes into the room, looks at me and she says oh Fuu – San from Kishiwada!! I think, eh!? OK now I am shocked, she knows of me!! Not really surprising though since I am the only Gaijin in the area who does Kyudo, but it was not expecting it from her. As it turns out, she is the GoDan, not the husband. Anyway, as a good Kung Fu / Taiji / Zen player I roll with it.

wpid-wp-1446534474396.jpeg

wpid-wp-1446534473934.jpeg

wpid-wp-1446539353728.jpeg

Amazingly light in weight…

wpid-wp-1446534473929.jpeg

I am shown in and taken to the Kyudo/ living room. Wow!!! There are Yumi everywhere in the corners! Lots and lots! Old ones, several old ones from Shibata XX and XIX I am shown. Antiques ! 

wpid-wp-1446534474284.jpeg

Not just Yumis, but Ya, lots and lots of old and new Bamboo Ya, in glass cases and out in the corners, I did not think of taking pix of the Yumi until afterward. But I did take photos of some of the Ya. To get and idea of how many Yumi, imagine one Yumi for every Ya in the pictures!! 

wpid-wp-1446534473931.jpeg

wpid-wp-1446534474439.jpeg

There were not just Yumi and Ya, but cases, expensive handmade cases. I am amazed at the collection of things. Something is said about the grandfather of the Ikai shop owner giving them/ her things or something like that!

wpid-wp-1446538778089.jpeg

In addition to the Kyudo items, I am shown the Japanese garden in the rear of the house, some special wood carving, shoji screens, and an ink painting. Old Japanese style stuff I am told. I did not think of taking pictures until near the end. I think I was told to return again sometime. I will make some arrangement via my neighbour to visit again, this time with my wife L.Z.  So with her, I will not miss any of what is said. It will be a good Kyudo blog post interview also, good for LZ’s new business to meet someone local who has a dog, as a contact possible client for her dog sitting business , and can pass the word. 

Leave a Reply

