Rei kai

Sept : Kishiwada Rei kai

It seemed like it had been awhile since I was at the dojo. I got back from my sailing trip on Friday and went to the dojo on Sat to practice. There was a monthly TaiKai on Sunday. I did not expect to do well as my shooting has sucked as of late. More so than usual. Oh well. It is not always sunny in life or smooth in sailing. As my resent trip proved once again, that was certainly a mixed bag. 

wpid-wp-1443067254739.jpeg
 
Sat I went in everyone was surprised to see me and said it had been a long time. Where have I been ? I explained sailing. Sou kai they said. I then set about practicing. In a short while i was almost alone as it was sort of late in the afternoon and many were leaving. The Kaicho gave me the usual talk, relax. Twist my forearm not my hand. I am still not sure how that works, but i worked at it. I out my focus there and not on my hand. I guess it worked because he said hai. Weird, but ok.
wpid-wp-1442298057667.jpeg
 

After a while Yamashita Sensei showed up. We did the greeting thing and he changed. I keep shooting. Once he change he came and checked me out. He said it has been awhile. I think it was the last outside TaiKai I saw him. He watched me shoot for a while, then while standing behind me, where he was shooting i got some guidance. I was too tight in my shoulder when in DaiSan. I needed to pull more with my elbow and not my shoulder. Push on the left with my body and shoulder not my hand and arm. Relax both hands. Ok, I worked at it. It sort of improved. I did notice that my misses are closer to the mato now since I changed my sighting place. Before I would always hit just to the right of the mato. Now I am hitting more center. Just too high or low. So I need to work that part out. overall though I guess I am improving even though it does not feel like it to me.

wpid-wp-1443067254405.jpeg

I am looking forward to my new yumi. It should be halfway done by now. I expect it to be ready sometime next month. Whoohoo. Takeyumi yonsun! Shibata kyoto style!

wpid-wp-1443067254361.jpeg

 
I am way behind on getting this posted, not that anyone care but me, I need to keep thing orderly. Today I got an eMail saying my Yumi is almost done save for some lacquer and misc wrapping. cOOL,
 
wpid-wp-1442298058073.jpeg
So moving to the topic, since have gotten off track. We had a in-house TaiKai. They do not call it that, they call it a dei kai, sorry do not know the kanji. No matter.
wpid-wp-1442298058136.jpeg
I was not expecting much in the way of my hitting, however as it turns out, thanks to some help from Yamashita Sensei the day before I did ok. Not good enough to make any kind of waves, but I did get at least one hit every time i was up. Some times even tow. The last taikai I got one hit , the last one out of a day of shooting, so yeah I was pleased.
 
 
 
 
Leave a Reply

