Crossing worlds


Progress is slow with Kyudo, however, I am noticing some improvements. I have been focusing on Tenouchi, back arch, shoulders down, expanding, pushing at the target with my thumb. The biggest change I have noticed is rare, well occasional hits are more center now, instead of just at the edge and or hitting mostly lower right. Now I hit more center. Ok , that is a good thing. I missed my Yondan by being just off the bottom edge. Now I am getting more travel to the right, and not down so much. Although I still need to work on not dropping my arm when in Hanare. The other day I was shooting and I had a hard time telling if the arrow had hit from the sound. Reason was, I had hit the same spot several times so the paper was gone. There was nothing for the Ya to break through. That was kind of Sugoi.

 
wpid-img_20150421_164523.jpg
My knee is slowly getting better. I do not know what happened to it. I think it was shiza at the last TaiKai at Osaka Castle. The last two practice sessions I was able to do the full Tai Hai. Not great, but passable. I may need to do the standing form if this continues. I will go to my acupuncture guy on Sat. I am off that day. 
 
The blogger of “Black Arrow” is back up and running, or perhaps shooting is a better word. This site was called Gaijihinexplorer before. He is in the Kyushu area studying Kyudo. A good writer, I have been reading his back issues. Good stuff. So now that I know of there are four blogs in English on Kyudo. “A Road less travelled” is still on hiatus ( hmm JW …) but the author is still out there in KyudoWorld. And of course everyone knows or should know Mu. Then there is this one, or maybe not. I do not focus on Kyudo only. A lot, but not only. Seems like it at times.
wpid-img_20150423_140314.jpg
 
Meanwhile back on the home front. I have decided to con’t the Shinsa quest flow and go for June. I have two chances at passing at BanPaku. I need to make it count. Summer and Fall Shinsa sessions are there. Winter session is elsewhere. So I have two shots at Banpaku this year. Just like I have two ya in Shinsa.
wpid-img_20150421_173403.jpg
 
Golden week in Kyoto there is a big Kyudo event. Big ranks TaiKai and shinsa for upper ranks. I thought only one of my shimpai from Kishiwada was attending. She is out for her Renshi. It turns out that there are three others testing two I believe are for Rokudan. It is interesting watching them get corrections. Some are the same I get. Their hit rate is better than me but they miss as well. 
wpid-img_20150423_140141.jpg
 
When I was in the States, most outside places, as in work, school, etc, for a very long time knew me as the Shifu, the Martial Art guy and/ or the sailor. A few Martial Art people knew me as a musician but more so the sailor. It is kind of weird hearing the “musician” attached to me now. This is what I am hearing now at the Dojo. Since my two Sempai heard me playing at the Snafkin and the now Shakuhachi classes my reputation is spreading now as the musician.
wpid-img_20150411_210336.jpg
One of the Sempai who came to Snafkin said he was going to come to the club we, the Band, were playing this past Weds. It is called a live house here in Japan, just a FYI.
I was riding the train to the gig yesterday, bouncing along, zoning out, on my smart phone texting a friend in the States, who wants to move to Japan, but his wife does not want to return to Japan life. Interestingly, both are Kyudoka (Kyudojhin) . I hear my name , and I look up. There are two Japanese looking at me. Niether of which I recognized. The woman Had her face mask on so could not tell who she was. The guy was smiling at me like he knew me. I am like: ehhhhh? The woman removed her mask and it was one of my sempai from the Kyudojo and her husband. that I figured out when I recognized her. Quite a surprise, seeing someone who knows me. she asked if I was going to play at the live house, if figured a normal question since i had my Bass with me. She smiles and said , so are we, to see you!
Me : Ehhhhhhh!
 
 
Con’t part 2
 
Leave a Reply

