2014: thoughts N Reflections

2015, year of the Ram/Goat/Sheep….?

 

Hmmm, not sure, I have seen it called all. Whatever. So yeah, here it is 2015, whewww, and we are off…Tiger in the Sheep’s Shadow

tiger2015 (1).jpg

So far just trip’n: Random thoughts and reflection starting the year.

I have been mostly chill’n the last couple of days. I came across a cool internet radio station that just does asian songs. Not the pop stuff but the old school based stuff. Japan, China, Korea, nice. I have it on the last two days, just drifting, mind drifting…

IMG_6143.JPG

We had Okasan over for New Years day. It was quiet, I had this asian station on, she mostly slept and tried to stay warm. LZ had did the Traditional Japanese cooking menu. We drank, with Otosan’s old sake set, ate. LZ went to work that evening. I found “the Flash” TV show and zoned out for the night and stayed warm in a small space. Today, am just hanging out, some morning Chan, food, drink, music, internet, incense, candles, tea, snow, thoughts…

cold..jpg

LZ is finally taking a full day off. She worked on New Years evening. Now she is relaxing in the bed, with the heater on, watching Japanese Year End, TV shows via the internet. She has found most of what she wants to see via the internet since we do not have a TV. Something planned for this year…

 

10861012_10205692234287982_8377110159147584765_o.jpg

 

I had my first stare down the other day. I am riding the train, this guy across and over from me is giving me the mean mug. I ig (ignore) him for a while. After a while he is still just staring. I give him a look just to see if he is really locked on me or some other visual in my area…nope it is me. I look away…breath…then look back. Just as direct, just as blank faced. Eyes locked, the train rolls on…
He holds…I hold…both blank stone faces sway with the train. I settle into mirror-mode jitsu. He folds and yields, I shift awareness to the bay in the distance through the glass of the access doors. The wheels of the train squeak as we roll. No one knows of the drama among them as they sway in time with the train, lost in their own worlds. Oblivious, to the primal struggle of man against man in their mist. The vanquish challenger quietly exited with his female companion. I considered a nap. The train rolled on.

Resolutions…I do not really do New Years resolutions, except to do better than I did last year. There are things I want to accomplish, but resolutions … Hmmmm. I resolved to practice more this year than last…

IMG_6130.JPG

Part of my approach to the new year is reading the I-Ching: how should I deal with/ approach this year?

The present is: ䷎ – 謙 (Khien) / Modesty

Khien indicates progress and success. The superior man, (being humble as it implies), will have a (good) issue (to his undertakings).

Explanation of the separate lines by the duke of Kâu.

Six at the beginning means:

The first SIX, divided, shows us the superior man who adds humility to humility. (Even) the great stream may be crossed with this, and there will be good fortune.

Six in the fourth place means:

The fourth SIX, divided, shows one, whose action would be in every way advantageous, stirring up (the more) his humility.

The future is: ䷶ – 豐 (Făng) / Abundance [Fullness]

Făng intimates progress and development. When a king has reached the point (which the name denotes) there is no occasion to be anxious (through fear of a change). Let him be as the sun at noon.

Hmmmm,

Just for the heck of it i did, Kyudo and me next, how to approach this year:

The present is: ䷎ – 謙 (Khien) / Modesty

Khien indicates progress and success. The superior man, (being humble as it implies), will have a (good) issue (to his undertakings).

 Explanation of the separate lines by the duke of Kâu. 

Six at the beginning means: The first SIX, divided, shows us the superior man who adds humility to humility. (Even) the great stream may be crossed with this, and there will be good fortune.

 Six in the fourth place means: The fourth SIX, divided, shows one, whose action would be in every way advantageous, stirring up (the more) his humility. 

 The future is: ䷶ – 豐 (Făng) / Abundance [Fullness] Făng intimates progress and development. When a king has reached the point (which the name denotes) there is no occasion to be anxious (through fear of a change). Let him be as the sun at noon.

Hmmmm, let.’s try the band:

The present is: ䷎ – 謙 (Khien) / Modesty

Khien indicates progress and success. The superior man, (being humble as it implies), will have a (good) issue (to his undertakings).

Explanation of the separate lines by the duke of Kâu.

Six in the fourth place means:

The fourth SIX, divided, shows one, whose action would be in every way advantageous, stirring up (the more) his humility.

Six in the fifth place means:

The fifth SIX, divided, shows one who, without being rich, is able to employ his neighbours. He may advantageously use the force of arms. All his movements will be advantageous.

The future is: ䷞ – 咸 (Hsien) / Influence (Wooing)

Hsien indicates that, (on the fulfilment of the conditions implied in it), there will be free course and success. Its advantageousness will depend on the being firm and correct, (as) in marrying a young lady. There will be good fortune.

What is really interesting is the “Modesty” figure showing up each time. Something that I have never seen.

Yet each line takes it to a different place…interesting. One can not go wrong usually living in / with modesty…

I have been giving thought to my life direction, comparing now to a couple of years ago. Happiness, fullness, accomplishments , direction maybe most. Some who read my blog for a number of years, told me she felt I was going in the wrong direction. I did not laugh as before. Hmmm, interesting to judge that from my blog and facebook. Still perhaps true. There were/ are several levels to recovering from the lost of Zen II. I do feel more grounded in my “plans”, hopes.

Another friend, a Chan sister, asked me for advice on how to live on the edge, live with uncertainty, and still be happy. LZ also had a similar query. Hmmm, I would not say I am happy… I am not unhappy, and that is in a sense, happiness. I have moments of happy happiness, but more I am on the “middle” sense. Perhaps I am naive in continuing to feel things will work out, and sometimes I feel pretty depressed being still, but knowing that is the only thing I can do at times. 

accept.JPG

Perhaps it is, finding pleasure, contentment, gratitude in small things, even if they are not what you want, whilst continuing to follow your heart. Perhaps that is what is perceived as happiness to others…

hmmm, so yeah, I am happy, but not happy happy, everyday is not sunny, but happiness is in the gratitude of being able to “see” all the days…

 

Ok, so writing down what one want to accomplish is suppose to be a good thing. So let’s see this year I want to :

Yon-dan in Kyudo. Not a big deal even within the Kyudo world but in my head a milestone in personal training and that goal I sought on the start of this Renmei path. I had planned on reaching Yon-dan then retire from shinsa. I can understand the value of “exams”, and have re-set my personal within the renmei goals. Still there is question, “is it all about shinsa and Tai Hai’s”. I have made an introduction connection to the Muyoshingetsu clan. I will pursue visiting a class in the spring after Shinsa. It will be another pilgrimage  as it is a several hour journey to reach where a class is held.

Start Shakuhachi lessons. I can get sounds and entertain myself, however I would like some formal training. Then I can explore more of Mixing Styles for some original songs, sounds. It would be good to spreadout more musically than just doing the Blues. There are several of the Sempai at Kishiwada Kyudojo who play Shakuhachi at the dojo. I wondered the other day whilst playing mine, if the lessons helped to train the breath control. I will ask someone At the Dojo about an introduction. 

sakuhachi-evening.jpg


Tai Chi/Kung Fu class going. The first one fizzled out at the cultural center. I have another, perhaps better location on the radar. Getting the students is the real challenge…yosh!

I will be dropping my current Japanese language class and finding another. The one I have now, is kind of “fun” but, I am not really learning, improving my Japanese skills…seriously. I want to/need do that.

No real sailing plans other than to get out more since I know I have boat access. No big sail away dreams. I still want to sail the inland sea and visit islands… However I am not thinking about that for a couple of years. Somewhere in that “5 yr plan” formation.

Another thing is to do better with my Chan class and personal practice. Part of being able to do that is to better my Japanese. I need to guide the students better.

 

As for the band. Hmmm, i would like to expand our song base, and do some other songs. Our current “house” status is ok. However I would like to get into some other clubs, expand our musical base. Starting some time near the end of the month I will go visit some other “Jam” venues, , meet some other musicians. Maybe I will end up working some with two bands. People do that here.

Well this has been a pretty long post about me doing nothing for a change. It is also getting late on the last day of my vacation. In the morning I am back to to Silver Center for rak’n stuff. Unless it rains, which is expected. Like the Universe is saying, here dude have another day of chill’n.

As it turns out, I got my extra day off. The rain did not start early enough for me to stay in bed. I got up and ready for work. However just before I was ready to leave I detected some rain fall, with the sky saying more is coming. It was the correct call as it is now raining proper. Even if I went in the day would have cancelled shortly after.

Rather than just go back to bed I will be productive at least for a while. First step publish this.

 

2015, na! Ganbarimasho!

Leave a Reply

