Zen’s excellent B/ W photo weekend. Prt II

Zen’s excellent Black and white weekend. Part II


Next up Kyudo. LZ finally had time to make the needed adjustments on my kimono and junban. So now I could do some real practice in full gear. Nice it was sort of on the cool side as it is fairly warm fully dressed.

 



It was not a full house as it is on some Sat. However still a fair amount of people even a couple in Kimono so I did not stand out as the only one dressed. I changed and got a few pointers from Yamashita Sensei and my Sempai. I found our there is a certain way one tucks the sleeve under the hakama tie. Also a certain way to pull the sleeve tight. One does not just grab and pull, everything is done with a certain elegance, I was told. I also was told how to get back into the kimono after shooting. However only I need to remove the sleeve proper for Shinsa not replace it. That was a relief! Big relief. However most likely something to look forward to for Go-dan.

 


 


I spent part of the day working on the kimono drill, the rest of the time just shooting with it on. That in itself is not really difficult however one does need to be aware of the arrows when in the ready position, hmm Really, going into the ready position. There is the long kimono sleeve to contend with now when placing the right hand on the hip.

 



My shooting I think is better, even though I do not hit as much as I would like I believe over all my form is improving. The Kaicho says I still need to open more in Kai and hanare. Yamashita Sensei says I am ok, but just need to keep my shoulders down and be aware of my wrist bend.

 


 

Either way, there is still a lot to do. Spring shinsa is not that far away my biggest challenge to date. A little over three months away. 

 

There is a big Tai Kai at the dojo this Sunday, I was supposed to be in it and again helping with the photos. However, i was asked to work, a sailing job. I can not turn down money and a sail, for just fun, so another time. There are a couple of big Tai Kai up coming end of the year and beginning of the year, or maybe it is just the beginning of the year. Hmmm well either way I am planing to attend.

 

 

As for the B/W photo challenge it was successful. I got some good shots, not so much from Kyudo but over all. I had planned on finshing up with some Kung Fu shots on the final day. “Man plans , heaven ordains” it rained, hard on Sunday, so that cancelled my Kung Fu photo shoot. However, I made up for it with another passion shot, musical.

 

 

I have found out that there are several people in the Kyudo Dojo who play Shakuhachi. There is I have been told a club. I will investigate this more later. 

 

I like this picture I think it turned out well. It took me some doing to get it setup the way I wanted.  Part of the Photo challenge was to nominate others to do the same. I nominated one guy, he did not comply, however he took this picture cropped it, made it much darker to the point the white Kimono does not look white and most of the other details I wanted shown where just shadow.. He showed it to me and said he could not help himself! Really!! I thought it was kind of insulting, but I am sensitive like that about my art. He could not do his own, but change mine to something he likes. Hmmm, I just said “different strokes for different folks”, as nothing was lost or gained. However what was the point? Showing me he could do better?

 

 

We have a saying in Kung Fu, there is always someone, faster, stronger, etc. 

 

However here, Beauty is in the eye of the beholder.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

